Property Law in England

The Acquisition Procedure

in England

The procedure for acquiring property is very different from the one we know in France. England has no equivalent to our notarial system. About 95% of sales are made by solicitors (lawyers of customary law practicing the drafting of private documents) and the rest by Licensed Conveyancers (lawyers in real estate law empowered to make sales). Sales are made in the form of a contract and not an act of sale as we have in France and the formalism is much more relaxed. In England, the concept of property is different from that which one knows on the continent.

 

A distinction must be made between the FREEHOLD ESTATE which corresponds to free and perpetual property and the LEASEHOLD ESTATE which corresponds to free but temporary property.

These two terms describe an important difference in defining ownership in England. They come directly from the history of England. At the time, the King was the sole owner of all the land. The majority of houses are sold in Freehold and the majority of apartments are sold in Leasehold.

The Freehold Estate

There are several types of Freehold but only one is generally applied, the others having fallen into disuse. By definition, this right is supposed to be the most absolute. It corresponds to the ownership of the building and the land on which it is built. Freehold is a perpetual right unlike leasehold. It will only end if there are no more heirs and no will has been contemplated. The property will then return to the Crown. The holder of the Freehold Estate is registered as a landowner in the official state documents.

 

Since 1993, Leasehold holders can buy the Freehold among themselves, which explains why more and more apartments are acquired with part of the Freehold. If the owner of Freehold wants to sell, he must give the Leasehold holder the choice to buy first.

The Leasehold Estate

It is a method of ownership in England recognized since the law on land ownership "The Law of Property" of 1925. Leasehold is a right inferior to that granted by Freehold and is a right of full property recognized as absolute but granted for a fixed period. The rights of possession enjoyed by the holder of the Leasehold are more limited than those enjoyed by the owner of the property in Freehold.

 

Three characteristics are essential to define a Leasehole:

- A fixed duration: The maximum duration must be fixed when the Leasehold is granted. A departure date for the lease must also be mentioned. The Leasehold can be fixed term (it is granted for a fixed period) or it can be periodic (it is fixed for a fixed period, for example weekly, monthly, annual ... and is renewable with a fixed notice period. It is this period of notice that defines the duration of the Leasehold). It is possible for a Leasehold owner to sell his right at any time. When acquiring a Leasehold, the remaining term of the lease must be taken into account. If it remains less than 50 years, it will be difficult to find a loan (75 years being the minimum duration to be considered).

 

- Exclusive property: It is the possibility of excluding anyone from property, including the owner of Freehold.

It is possible for a holder of Leasehold to mortgage his property and rent it (No clause can prohibit the rental).

 

- An annuity payable: An annuity is generally payable to the holder of the Leasehold. The terms must be established at the time the Leasehold is fixed. Generally the Leaseholder must also pay an annual service to the Freeholder to cover the maintenance and repairs of the building and / or common parts if necessary.

Buying a Property in England

- Procedure and negotiation

The right of property in England is very different from the right of property which one knows in the Latin countries. If you wish to acquire a property across the Channel, you will have to respect an acquisition procedure. After visiting a few properties and then selecting the one you want, you must make an acquisition offer to the owner. As in France, this is generally written and details the conditions of purchase (bank loan, deadlines, special conditions if applicable…). This step will allow you to enter into negotiations with the seller who can accept or refuse your offer.

 

Warning: unlike France, an offer made to the displayed purchase price does not oblige the seller to accept and bidding is common. In order not to fall into the trap of endless negotiation, we can assist you in this process.

 

- Bank loan and “Surveyor”

If you are using a bank loan, the lending institution may ask you for an appraisal of the price of the property by an expert. Called "surveyor", this estimate of the value of the property is the responsibility of the purchaser and is most often organized by the lending institution.

- Contract signature

Once these steps have been taken, if the seller and the buyer agree on the conditions of the sale, they can proceed to sign the contract. Upon signing, you will be asked to pay 10% of the amount of the fixed purchase price as a deposit. Finally, it is once the balance is paid that the registration of the act can take place. It takes an average of 8 weeks for all of these steps.

 

Please note: if you have never bought in England, you must anticipate the transactional, organizational and tax issues of your purchase. We support you in all of these research-related steps up to the signing of the final contract to acquire your future property in London.

Selling a Property in England

- Sales and marketing prices

Before selling your property, it is strongly advised to have it assessed by a real estate agency. The English markets are evolving rapidly and since the announcement of Brexit, prices have undergone large variations. Once this evaluation has been made and the sale price determined, you can call on a professional for marketing. On average, agency fees vary between 1.5% and 3% HT of the sale price of the property (VAT: 20%) and depend on the type of sale mandate. As in France, the commission is due on the final sale of your property and is in addition to the "net seller" price. The real estate agent will take care of all the marketing procedures, take professional photos, distribute your property in the appropriate media, take care of the visits and take care of carrying out the diagnoses (note that you are not not obliged to call on the agency's service to have these diagnoses carried out even if often their negotiated rates are attractive).

 

- Diagnostics

In France, the seller has the obligation to have these diagnoses carried out before the property is marketed. In England, these diagnoses are not compulsory for the sale but only when the sales contract is signed. However, it is customary to have these diagnoses carried out (by a "solicitor") for sale, as in France, in order to save time during negotiations.

 

Advice: Support from a real estate agency when selling your property in London is very important. In addition to guiding you in the sale, she will take care of supporting you in carrying out the mandatory technical and legal procedures. We have been able to develop expertise in the London market. Contact us for more information and to meet a professional selected by Story's.

- Taxation on the sale

Before selling your property, it is important to anticipate the various taxes that may be payable. The question of taxation is central to the realization of your future projects, in England or abroad.

  • If you sell a property in England as a French tax resident, you will have to pay this tax in England but also a part in France because you will depend on the rules defined in the tax convention signed between France and England. This will define the rules for taxation and non-double taxation. In the case of capital gains tax, France will be able to claim from you an amount of tax corresponding to the difference between what you have to pay in England and what you would have had to pay if the property had been located in France. In other words, the total final amount that you will pay will correspond to the amount of French tax on the capital gain realized.

  • If you sell real estate in England as an English tax resident, you will be subject to normal English taxes. (see tax page in England)

All our offers

in London

Consult all our offers and services

for your real estate investment project in London.

For further information...

Find nformation, advice and answers to questions about investing in England ...

Return to France, Re-Invest Abroad?

Our Paris-based company specializes in real estate investment advice abroad but also in France.

We support you on the whole of your sale and purchase project, from one country to another.

For more information, please feel free to contact us.

Logo Story's Immobilier investir à Londres

FIND

with Story's

Discover our services to find

the ideal property

in France.

Logo Story's Immobilier investissement locatif Londres

Discover our sales services

and estimate to sell

at the best price.

Logo Story's investir dans l'immobilier à Londres

Discover our formulas and services to carry out all your investment projects in Europe.

ALL OUR OFFERS
in France & in Europe

Find a Property in France

or Invest in

the European Capitals!

STORY'S INTERNATIONAL

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Tumblr - White Circle

9 rue du Fauconnier

75004, Paris

Le droit de propriété en Angleterre

Le droit de propriété en Angleterre

La procédure d'accession à la propriété immobilière diffère beaucoup de celle que nous connaissons en France. L'Angleterre ne connaît pas d'équivalent à notre système du notariat. Environ 95% des ventes sont établies par des solicitors (avocats du droit coutumier pratiquant la rédaction d'acte sous seing privé) et le reste par des Licensed Conveyancers (juristes en droit immobilier habilités à faire des ventes). Les ventes sont passées sous la forme d'un contrat et non un acte de vente comme nous l'avons en France et le formalisme en est beaucoup plus assoupli. En Angleterre, la notion de propriété est différente de celle que l'on connaît sur le continent.

Il faut faire la différence entre le FREEHOLD ESTATE qui correspond à la propriété libre et perpétuelle et le LEASEHOLD ESTATE qui correspond à la propriété libre mais temporaire.

Ces deux termes décrivent une importante différence pour définir la propriété en Angleterre. Ils sont issus directement de l'histoire de l'Angleterre. A l'époque, le Roi était le seul propriétaire de l'ensemble des terres. La majorité des maisons sont vendues en Freehold et la majorité des appartements sont vendus en Leasehold.

Le Freehold Estate 

Il y a plusieurs types de Freehold mais un seul est généralement appliqué, les autres étant tombés en désuétudes. Par définition, ce droit est sensé être le plus absolu. Il correspond à la propriété du bâtiment et du terrain sur lequel il est construit. Le Freehold est un droit perpétuel contrairement au leasehold. Il ne prendra fin que s'il n'existe plus d'héritiers et qu'aucun testament n'a été envisagé. Le bien retournera alors à la Couronne. Le détenteur du Freehole Estate est enregistré entant que propriétaire foncier au cadastre.

Depuis 1993, Les détenteurs de Leasehold peuvent racheter le Freehold entre eux ce qui explique que de plus en plus d'appartements sont acquis avec une partie du Freehold. Si le propriétaire de Freehold souhaite vendre, il doit laisser le choix au détenteur du Leasehold d'acheter en premier.

Le Leasehold Estate 

C'est un mode de détention de la propriété en Angleterre reconnu depuis la loi sur la propriété foncière "The Law of Property" de 1925. Le Leasehold est un droit inférieur à celui accordé par le Freehold et est un droit de pleine propriété reconnu comme absolu mais accordé pour une durée déterminée.Les droits de possession dont jouit le titulaire du Leasehole sont plus limités que ceux dont jouit le propriétaire du bien en Freehole.

Trois éléments caractéristiques sont essentiels pour définir un Leasehole :

Une durée fixe : La durée maximale doit être fixée lorsque le Leasehold est accordé. Il doit également être fait mention d'une date de départ pour le bail. Le Leasehold peut être à terme fixe (il est consenti pour une durée déterminée) ou il peut être périodique (il est fixé pour une durée déterminée, par exemple hebdomadaire, mensuelle, annuelle... et est renouvelable avec une période de préavis déterminée. C'est cette durée de préavis qui définit la durée du Leasehold). Il est possible pour un propriétaire de Leasehold de vendre son droit à tout moment. Lors de l'acquisition d'un Leasehold, il faut bien prendre en compte la durée restante du bail. S'il reste moins de 50 ans, il sera difficile de trouver un emprunt (75 ans étant la durée minimale à considérée).

- Une propriété exclusive : C'est la possibilité d'exclure toute personne de la propriété, y compris le propriétaire de Freehold. Il est de se fait possible pour un détenteur de Leasehold d'hypothéquer son bien et de le louer (Aucune clause ne peut interdire la location).

 

Une rente à payer : Une rente est généralement à payer au détenteur du Leasehold. Les termes doivent être établis au moment ou est fixé le Leasehole. Généralement le Leaseholder doit également payer un service annuel au Freeholder pour couvrir l'entretient et les réparations du bâtiment et/ou des parties communes le cas échéant.

Acheter un bien immobilier en Angleterre

- Procédure et négociation

Le droit de propriété en Angleterre est très différent du droit de propriété que l’on connait dans les pays latins. Si vous souhaitez acquérir un bien outre-manche, il va vous falloir respecter une procédure d’acquisition qui diffère légèrement de celle que l’on connait en France. Après avoir visité quelques biens puis avoir sélectionné celui que voulez, vous devez formuler une offre d’acquisition auprès du propriétaire. Comme en France, celle-ci est généralement écrite et détail les conditions d’achat (prêt bancaire, délais, conditions particulières le cas échéant…). Cette étape va vous permettre d’entrer en négociation avec le vendeur qui pourra accepter ou refuser votre offre.

Attention : contrairement à la France, une offre faite au prix de vente affiché n’oblige pas le vendeur à l’accepter et la surenchère est courante. Pour ne pas tomber dans le piège d’une négociation interminable, nous vous pouvons vous accompagner dans cette démarche.

 

- Prêt bancaire et « surveyor »

Si vous faite appel à un prêt bancaire, l’établissement prêteur peut vous demander une évaluation du prix de la propriété par un expert. Appelée « surveyor », cette estimation de la valeur du bien est à la charge de l’acquéreur et est le plus souvent organisée par l’établissement prêteur.

 

- Signature du contrat

Une fois ces démarches réalisées, si le vendeur et l’acquéreur sont d’accord sur les conditions de la vente, ils pourront procéder à la signature du contrat. A la signature, il vous sera demander de verser 10% du montant du prix fixé d’acquisition au titre d’acompte. Enfin, c’est une fois le solde versé que l’enregistrement de l’acte pourra avoir lieu. Il faut compter en moyenne 8 semaines pour l’ensemble de ces démarches.

 

Attention : si vous n’avez jamais acheté en Angleterre, il faut anticiper les questions transactionnelles, organisationnelles et fiscales de votre achat. Nous vous accompagnons dans l’ensemble de ces démarches liées à la recherche jusqu’à la signature du contrat définitif d’acquisition de votre futur bien à Londres.

Vendre un bien immobilier en Angleterre

- Prix de vente et commercialisation

Avant de mettre en vente votre bien, il est fortement conseillé de le faire évaluer par une agence immobilière. Les marchés anglais évoluent rapidement et depuis l’annonce du Brexit, les prix subissent de grosses variations. Une fois cette évaluation faite et le prix de vente déterminé, vous pouvez faire appel à une un professionnel pour la commercialisation. En moyenne, les frais d’agence varient entre 1.5 % et 3 % HT du prix de vente du bien (TVA : 20 %) et dépendent du type de mandat de vente. Comme en France, la commission est due à la vente définitive de votre bien et est en supplément du prix « net vendeur ». L’agent immobilier se chargera de l’ensemble des démarches pour la commercialisation, réalisera des photos professionnelles, diffusera votre bien dans les médias adaptés, se chargera des visites et s’occupera de la réalisation des diagnostics (à noter que vous n’êtes pas obligé de faire appel au service de l’agence pour faire réaliser ces diagnostics même si souvent leurs tarifs négociés sont intéressants).

- Les diagnostics

En France, le vendeur a l’obligation de faire réaliser ces diagnostics avant la commercialisation du bien immobilier. En Angleterre, ces diagnostics ne sont obligatoires pour la mise en vente mais uniquement au moment de la signature du contrat de vente. Néanmoins, il est d'usage de faire réaliser ces diagnostics (par un « solicitor ») pour la mise en vente, comme en France, afin de gagner du temps lors de la négociation.

 

Conseil : L’accompagnement par une agence immobilière lors de la mise en vente de votre bien immobilier à Londres est très important. En plus de vous guider dans la vente, elle se chargera de vous accompagner pour la réalisation des procédures techniques et juridiques obligatoires. Nous avons su développer une expertise sur le marché londonien. Contactez-nous pour plus d’informations et pour rencontrer un professionnel sélectionné par Story's.

 

- Fiscalité sur la vente

Avant de vendre son bien, il est important d’anticiper les différentes taxes qui seront éventuellement à payer. La question de la fiscalité est centrale pour la réalisation de vos futurs projets, en Angleterre ou à l’étranger.

  • Si vous vendez un bien immobilier en Angleterre en tant que résident fiscal français, vous allez devoir payer cet impôt en Angleterre mais également une partie en France car vous allez dépendre des règles définies dans la convention fiscale signée entre la France et l’Angleterre. Celle-ci va définir les règles d’imposition et de non double imposition. Dans le cas de l’impôt sur la plus-value, la France va être en mesure de vous réclamer un montant d’impôt correspondant à la différence entre ce que vous devez payer en Angleterre et ce que vous auriez du payer si le bien avait été situé en France. En d’autres termes, le montant final total que vous allez payer va correspondre au montant de l’impôt français sur la plus-value réalisée.

  • Si vous vendez un bien immobilier en Angleterre en tant que résident fiscal anglais, vous serez assujetti aux taxes normales anglaises. (voir page fiscalité en Angleterre)

REVENIR EN FRANCE ?

RÉINVESTIR A L'ETRANGER ?

Le manque d'information sur les modalités de sortie de l'Angleterre de l'U.E provoque beaucoup de questions sur l'avenir de l'importante communauté d'expatriés français à Londres.

Notre société basée à Paris est spécialisée dans le conseil en investissement immobilier à l'étranger mais également en France. Nous pouvons vous accompagner sur la globalité de votre projet de vente et d’achat, d'un pays à l'autre. Pour plus d'informations, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

L'IMMOBILIER À LONDRES

RÉGLEMENTATION LOCATIVE

FISCALITÉ

PROCÉDURE D'ACQUISITION

Consultez nos offres et nos services pour votre projet

d'investissement immobilier à Londres

LOGOS STORYS RVB-15.png

STORY'S INTERNATIONAL

21 boulevard Poissonnière

75002 Paris

contact@storys-international.com

01 44 93 55 56

STORY'S SUR LES RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Tumblr - White Circle